A visit

My heart skipped a beat
as you stepped into the room
and for a while I was paralysed…

Should I hug you, should I kiss you?
would everyone stop staring if I did?
I was afraid you’d not want a hug.

Then you smiled and my heart melted;
and time continued on
My frozen lips cracked a smile.

Then I caught your scent,
and I swooned to the words you said
No matter what they were

You left, as you had come
a minute in time, but timeless in my heart
And I wanted a chance to say…

I want you to stay, or let me leave with you
I needed you to hear me say,
how much I love you.


Poem copyright protected, and the property of Rambling Poetry, and not to be used without permission.


2 thoughts on “A visit

Leave a Reply

