The Wall

A wall around my heart I built
To keep it safe from harm
Brick by brick you tore it down
‘Til I was in your arms

A love it grew, more than I’d hoped
Within my heart anew
And consumed my every moment
With thoughts of only you

A love so strong, a love so true
It will last beyond the fire
That threatens to consume us
Upon love’s blazing pyre.

A wall torn down, never rebuilt
A love to change with time;
A friendship built upon the rock,
Amidst the sands of time.


Poem copyright protected, and the property of Rambling Poetry, and not to be used without permission.


Leave a Reply

