Everything Burns

Juan Wynn had posted a request for viewers to suggest one of four lines that the next poem would be based upon, I had made a suggestion, then somehow got carried away and wrote one myself:


I watched as my vision struggled to clear
and the heat build around my ear

My legs seemed to respond to a different brain
and knuckles that the fool’s face bruised? no pain

The girl I was chatting with seems to have gained a glow
but my wallet seems to be a “no show”

Forget the problems, really, who cares?
And for the rest of the night, it doesn’t matter who stares

Tonight is my night, definitely my turn
I know in the morning, everything burns.


Poem copyright protected, and the property of Rambling Poetry, and not to be used without permission.


Leave a Reply

