In the Shadow of a Palm

The shadow of a seaside palm
fell across my face,
lending me a cooling shade
in an otherwise hot place.

I sat upon what might have been
the brother of that tree,
Now it is a welcome rest
for my feet, my legs, my knee.

Upon it I would sit and think
of things that are in the past,
And how it seems sometimes
that life now moves so fast

I want to share this lonely moment
with those I’ve loved, and lost,
With those I now hold dear,
with those whose paths I’ve crossed.

But the moment is better spent
with just my thoughts around,
Just me and the palm tree,
and the sands upon the ground.


Poem copyright protected, and the property of Rambling Poetry, and not to be used without permission.


4 thoughts on “In the Shadow of a Palm

Leave a Reply

