The lights of the city

The lights of the city
changes it…

By day a mass of busy people
and motor-vehicles bustling around;
Of noise and of smells and movement
All in abundance.

By night, a sparkling gem
set on the river mouth
the garbage obscured
the noises more joyous.

The night in the city
changes me…

From a hustling man in work attire
to a languid soul in slacks
A slow drive down Main street
A walk down the Avenue…

From a man with a concerned frown
to one with a sauntering stride
beneath lighted trees
along rain-swept pavements.

The lights of the city
changes me…

Changes the way I see the streets,
The way I feel the city’s heartbeat
A walk in the shopping district,
A drive through the Artists’ square

At night the spirit changes
and the mood becomes more relaxed
The building look less forbidding
The people look more relaxed

The lights of the city
changes it…

My perception changes, of things around
And by day I see it in a new light
I see shadows of what was there
I see the shadows of a smile

A smile that was lighted by night lights
And now twisted by the morning sun
The lights of the city beguile me
The lights of the night changes me


Poem copyright protected, and the property of Rambling Poetry, and not to be used without permission.


Leave a Reply

