Linger

We met this morning,
a moment so brief
Hair so raven;
Dress – like a leaf

A smile so lovely
A rose in your hair,
Such a brief moment,
were you really here?

I remember your presence
Did we even speak?
Your smile ever makes
me feel so weak.

Ah! yes, you were here,
I surely remember
Your scent, so redolent
It always lingers

Had you but stayed
some moments more
I may have stopped you
from passing that door.

Is it only I, that
you affect this way?
To never have you leave,
to always, always stay?

I want to touch
and caress your face
let my touch linger
before you race

Away from me
Out into the world
and make my mind reel;
my thoughts swirl.

You’ll never know,
for I’ll never impart
to you, what thoughts
are in my heart.

Though you are gone,
my thoughts they simmer,
with memories of you,
that continue to linger.


Poem copyright protected, and the property of Rambling Poetry, and not to be used without permission.


13 thoughts on “Linger

  1. This is so sweet. I love the flow of the words and the way you kept each line short. It made me linger and grasp each line as if the poem was a person too.

Leave a Reply

