The Song

On the road, late at night
And the radio played that song…

It wasn’t our song, strange,
We had a playlist, not just one…

I stopped the car, to catch myself
I hadn’t seen you, it had been so long…

I listened to the words,
thought of you, and sang along…

A tear came to my eye,
But wanting you, was so wrong…

I wanted to call you,
To tell you, “Turn your radio on”…

But I just sat and listened,
Willing myself to be strong…

I would always love you,
But to another, I belong.


Poem copyright protected, and the property of Rambling Poetry, and not to be used without permission.


2 thoughts on “The Song

Leave a Reply

