Wept

Trees enjoined over the avenue,
Petals cushion every step;
Droplets on the blades of grass
symbolic; indeed I’d wept.

Sunlight diffused through cloud and leaves
softened shadows drift;
my gait, my pace, my ambling
would make a snail seem swift.

A weight upon my tender heart,
crushed down by words;
Wounded by her sweet embrace,
Impaled upon her honeyed sword.

Thunder rolls and darkness falls,
The sky weeps on me;
Torrential rains above the city
softened by the tree

Under which I stand, alone,
weeping like the sky;
My heart cries out, my soul despairs;
both simply asking “Why?”

The skies will clear, eventually;
The sun will dry the tears,
The heart will heal, steps will quicken
In the coming weeks, months and years…


Poem copyright protected, and the property of Rambling Poetry, and not to be used without permission.


Leave a Reply

