Untitled – 03112016

The dust settles, back upon the earth,
dry, barren, covering
the dried blood of the fallen;
For another’s ideals, we give our life,
alive, like a flower,
now scattered like its pollen.
By my brother’s side, we’ve fought through hell
killed, rejoiced, and in
another’s name, vied for victory;
Motes rest upon my open unseeing eyes,
but I will walk into Valhalla,
chosen by the Valkyrie.
Would that I could see her face again,
smiling, loving, but
she lives, and I must move on,
Until the day, when I shall be joined,
by her and the one
she raises, my boy, my son!

 


Poem copyright protected, and the property of Rambling Poetry, and not to be used without permission.


Leave a Reply

